New Mexico drivers are expected to carry minimum liability auto
insurance limits in order to operate their motor vehicles legally.
This liability insurance is required to provide $25,000 for bodily
injury or death to one person, $50,000 for bodily injury or death of
two or more persons, and a maximum of $10,000 of coverage for damage
to property in the event of an accident.
Basic Liability Coverage
As stated above in State Requirements, basic liability coverage meets
the minimums expected for drivers in New Mexico. If you are involved
in an accident where you are at fault, your basic liability will only
cover medical bills or property damage for the other driver(s) up to
the amount of coverage specified on your plan. This doesn't always
cover all costs of damage to the other car, especially if the damages
It's important to note that this coverage is the bare minimum required
and does not cover your personal hospital bills or damage (or complete
loss) of property in the event of an accident, theft, natural disaster
Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Acceptance offers additional insurance options such as a full line of
comprehensive and collision coverage offerings. With additional
insurance, you can protect your vehicle from partial or total loss
(repair or replacement in the event of an accident), theft and
vandalism. In addition, comprehensive and collision coverage offers
you varying degrees of protection in the case of collision with an
uninsured or underinsured motorist.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
While minimum liability insurance is required in New Mexico, that's
not to say all drivers abide by this law. In fact, some studies show
that one in four drivers in New Mexico, drive without insurance.
Fortunately, Acceptance has options that protect you, should you find
yourself in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist.