Skip to main content

Cheap Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Find Affordable Car Insurance Medical Benefits Quotes Today

What is Personal Injury Protection (PIP)?

Designed to financially protect you from some of the medical expenses related to a car accident and similar to Medical Payments (MedPay) coverage, Personal Injury Protection initiates when you or your passengers have been injured in a covered event. In many no-fault states this is a required car insurance coverage, which is why it is also known as no-fault insurance. In some other states, it must be declined in writing.

Personal injury coverage kicks in to help with medical and other costs associated with being hurt in a car wreck. It does not matter who is at fault in the accident — your PIP helps regardless of whether you are at fault or not. Your local Acceptance agent understands the laws where you live and can help you decide if you need this coverage and how to find it cheaply.

How Much Does PIP Cost?

Average estimates place the cost between $50 to $200 per month, depending on where you live and how much coverage you purchase. In no-fault states that require Personal Injury Protection (PIP) (or its comparable MedPay), your insurance premiums will likely be higher than in states that are at-fault and do not require it.

Ready to Get a Quick Quote?

What Does Personal Injury Insurance Cover?

In no-fault states, it is used in place of bodily injury liability. It covers medical costs, plus lost wages and more for you and your passengers up to policy limits. Here are some of the items it covers:

  • Medical bills
  • Surgical fees
  • Ambulance fees
  • Lost wages
  • Rehab services
  • Funeral expenses
  • Death benefit
  • Essential services such as child care, lawn, etc.

Depending on where you live, PIP covers varying amounts of total costs. For example, in Florida, drivers are required to carry at least $10,000 in injury coverage and it pays 80% of medical bills and 60% of last wages, up to your policy limit.

What Does Personal Injury Not Cover?

It only covers medical and related costs. It is one type of auto insurance. It will not replace any other types of coverage, such as full, comprehensive, collision, uninsured motorist or property damage.

How Long Does it Take for PIP to Kick In?

Typically, it’s very quick for you to receive benefits. Since PIP pays out in an approved claim regardless of who is at fault, there is no waiting around for the insurance companies and courts to decide liability. In most cases, your coverage will begin to kick in soon after you (or your passengers) are injured in a covered event.

Although this coverage will not pay your health insurance deductibles like MedPay will, it offers money for lost wages, funeral expenses and more.

Do I Need to Purchase Personal Injury Coverage?

If your state requires it, yes. Otherwise, you only need to add it to your existing policy if you regularly use your car to transport passengers (aside from rideshare), such as carpooling to work, and you don’t have a great health insurance plan. Personal injury coverage can pick up the slack if your health plan is weak.

Young woman with broken leg from car accident, cheap car insurance.

Where is PIP Coverage Required?

It is required in 14 states. Some of those states are no-fault states and some are at-fault states. There are seven states where motorists can refuse injury coverage in writing, including: Arkansas, Kentucky, Maryland, South Dakota, Texas, Virginia, and Washington. The District of Columbia also requires this coverage to be refused in writing. Here are the states that require PIP and how much you must carry to be legal.

Scroll for more
State No Fault/At Fault Amount of PIP Required
Delaware At Fault $15,000
Florida No Fault $10,000
Kansas No Fault $4,500
Maine At Fault $2,000 MedPay
Massachusetts No Fault $8,000
Michigan* No Fault PIP options
Minnesota No Fault $40,000

*Michigan: Drivers have four PIP options, ranging from unlimited to $250,000. Drivers must choose an option based on their individual circumstances.

* New Hampshire: New Hampshire does not require car insurance but requires proof of financial responsibility. If you choose to purchase insurance, you must purchase at least this amount in PIP.

Can I Get Medical Payments Coverage with PIP?

Medical payments (MedPay) is available in some states, while Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is available in others. There are also states where both are available. Conceivably, you can purchase both together in those states, but it’s best to speak with an insurance professional to make sure that is the best course for you.

Will Personal Injury Plans Pay for Someone to Clean My House?

Yes, in an approved claim, PIP will pay for someone to do tasks you would normally do but cannot due to your injuries and recovery. This includes house cleaning, childcare and more.

Get Affordable Personal Injury Protection Today

Our Acceptance agents are knowledgeable  about state requirements. They will help you find the coverage you need at a price you can afford. We do the shopping for you, so you have a list of companies to choose from that match your individual needs. Give us the opportunity to show you what friendly, professional insurance service is all about. Reach out for a free car insurance quote online, give us a call at 877-405-7102 or stop by one of our convenient locations.